All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity? How could it be tackled?

Nowadays, being overweight in all age groups is becoming a concerning issue throughout the world. Obesity has been caused by various factors like sedentary lifestyle, fast food and work-related stress. In this essay I am looking at these reasons and suggesting some solutions. One of the main causes of this problem is that people are approaching a more inactive lifestyle due to high-tech electronic gadgets. for example, playing attractive computer games which have the best graphics is becoming more fashionable amongst children rather than doing sports. The solution is for the parents and school authorities to enhance knowledge about the pivotal role of physical activities in keeping fit and staying healthy. Another reason arises from unhealthy foods that have been so popular. Although fast foods are more affordable, these kinds of food can lead to detrimental health issues such as excessive overweight because of its high unsaturated fat and processed ingredients. Hence, the government should make major strides like producing TV programs and launching campaigns to increase public awareness about the drawbacks of fast food. A third cause of the problem is that individuals are experiencing a hectic lifestyle in modern societies. Which means that they have been exposed to a variety of stressors. As a result, some disease such as obesity has risen remarkably. To tackle this issue, public health authorities should encourage people to have a work-life balance. Moreover, the government should monitor working hour policies in the companies and can impose employees who overwork their staff. To sum up, being obese has become a crucial matter as a result of changes in our way of life, due to reasons such as technology progression and lack of physical activities in addition to consumption of junk foods. My view is that the main responsibility for solving this concern lies with the government and public health authorities.