Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the present days, it has been observed that a lot of vendors have shut down their respective shops and are left with no work. This essay will discuss the reason behind this and why i believe it is a positive development. One of the main reasons contributing to closing of many high street shops is online shopping. In recent years there has been a substantial growth in the trend of online shopping. Most of the top brands are readily available on these shopping applications such as Amazon, Flipkart and Snapdeal. Additionally, there marketting strategies such as giving higher discounts and promotions have persuaded more buyers to purchase online rather than from the shopkeepers. To illustrate, in a study conducted in Delhi, many shops were closed down in Cannaught place which is indeed, famous for buying all the International brands, and the main factor leading to this was rise in trend of online shopping. Therefore, this trend has emerged on a high scale leading in the past years leading to loss of work of many people. On the other hand, these advancement in technology has many positive aspects too. Firstly, through various websites, individuals can buy any item very easily and it is highly convenient as the delivery of the product is available at home. Secondly, the prices which they offer are comparitively cheaper in comparison to the shopping mall and street shop owners. For instance, nowadays Amazon has successfully provided buisness opportunities to the local shopkeepers to sell their products online on their website. This has not only enhanced their work but on the counter part it is beneficial for consumers also as they are able to buy products at affordable prices. Therefore, it is a positive development which has benefitted both the sellers as well as buyers online. To conclude, undoubtedbly many of the shop owners have lost their work in the recent years due to new trends in shopping. However, I firmly believe it is a positive development for a nation to progress in terms of technology and convenience.