Do you think punishment should be used to teach children wrong or right actions?

In our current world, it is becoming hard to bring up our offspring by teaching moral values. Many parents try to control their kid's bad behaviour by giving punishment, in another hand others just ignore their wrong actions. In the following paragraph, I am trying to discuss both views. To begin with, in my view, Parents are the first teachers for kids, that's why whenever they do mistakes, it is the parent's responsibility to correct them then and there only, otherwise, children think what they do is right and just continue the same action, For example when a kid push or beat his or her peer, in the presence of guardians, the kid has to get educated about his or her miss behaviour, in order to stop further attacks. If we neglect those types of activities, in future they may become criminal minded. Moreover, certain punishments like keeping the children, with a more aggressive character, that cannot be controlled by parents or teachers, under juvenile jail custody, giving a chance to get evaluate their nature with the help of a psychologist and they can come out with a better situation. For example Ram, a child,who killed his younger brother, confessed after finishing his punishment period in jail with a certain amount of fine and now he is a member of a organisation, that supports the mental health of vulnerable children. To conclude, in my opinion, fair punishment, without harming physically and according to the depth of the case, is an acceptable way to mould the young generation with a better life and reduce criminal cases in future.