Immigration has an important impact on society. What are the reasons for people to immigrate and what are the consequences?

It is indubitable that immigration has existed in the history of human beings. There are complex factors for individuals who plan to emigrate to other countries. Immigrants gradually have a positive impact on society and lead to potential social risks as well. The essay will discuss the importance of immigration regarding its causes and influence. People relocate themselves from their mother country to a foreign land for several reasons, which can be classified as pull factors and push factors. For example, in terms of the former ones, people are usually in the pursuit of better economic development in well-developed countries where they have bigger chances to enjoy abundant job opportunities, a stable community, investment prospects, or even marriage. Instead, the latter include warfare, poor environmental surroundings, high crime rates, or unstable politics. By and large, individuals emigrate to other places for better living conditions. Newcomers play a pivotal role in the country. Without immigrants, people probably won’t be able to enjoy exotic cuisine and experience diversified cultures. Additionally, they can devote their capability to help boost the domestic economy and resolve the labor shortage in the host country, for example foreign professionals working in high technological companies, alien nursing workers caring for older or migrant workers employed on ocean fishing vessels. However, lots of challenges such as crimes, language barriers, and cultural controversy may result from immigrants so the government should set up a sound policy to address the issues. In other words, we need to help immigrants to fit in the society to be in harmony with nationals. To sum up, immigrants bring along the opportunities as well as challenges. Some countries need immigrants to maintain the economic activities, some welcome immigrants for their professions. However, the conflicts between local citizens and new residents are causing social unrest and therefore need to be taken care of by the government. As a citizen what we can do is to respect newcomers from various countries and help them integrate into the society.