Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music, are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other public services. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that public spending on the arts is a waste of money. In my opinion, it would be wrong to reallocate this money to some other public services. To begin with, the first argument that springs to my mind is that the government money invested in the arts industry can have a great deal of financial ramifications. In fact, the integration of tourism and the creative industry has become an inevitable trend. Arts museums now also serve as landmarks for tourist attractions, creating numerous jobs and incomes in various business sectors. The British Museum in the United Kingdom is a case in point. Furthermore, the cultural and creative industries have been shown to be resilient during the downturn and the pandemic, and in my opinion, investing in the arts sector is a prime driver of sustainable economic development. Equally worth mentioning is that investing in the arts can bring several benefits to every member of society. Firstly, in every country, artistic heritage represents a great source of local history and wisdom, which means governments should preserve them. Secondly, theatres and museums are essential places for amusement and rejuvenation, offering a public space for busy individuals to unwind. Finally, funding for arts education is critical to fostering creativity in our next generation. If governments reallocated the money spent on arts projects, many modern cities would become less cultural, liveable, and creative. In conclusion, my view is that governments should continue to allocate funds and resources for arts projects, and that spending is of paramount importance and will not squander taxpayer money.