Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that there is a growing demand for more land to be used for residential areas and economic development purposes. However, I totally disagree with the idea that abandoning public parks is the best way to solve this problem. In my opinion, it is necessary to preserve our city and country parks to assure people’s quality of life. These outdoor spaces are essential for city dwellers to unwind from the hustle and bustle of life. In fact, these spaces have become even more important to people during the pandemic and lockdown, when all gyms and sports centres are closed. In addition, public parks provide a recreational and sportive place for diverse communities, including the elderly, families, and domestic workers, to gather and develop a sense of community. As such, public parks play a vital role in the overall health and wellbeing of our communities. I also believe that public parks are eco-friendly outdoor spaces that can significantly enhance, protect, and promote our environment. City and country parks are home to many insects, plants, trees, birds, and other small animals. Not only do these open spaces create small ecosystems, but they also help biodiversity. What’s more, these places have greatly improved the pollution of our cities by purifying the air and reducing the noise. So, if they are replaced by residential or commercial areas, our cities will become less environmentally friendly and more polluted. In conclusion, I think parks are of high value to quality of life and the environment and should not be sacrificed for other uses.