Some believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor people, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the rapid spread of digital technologies across much of the world over the past two decades, whether technology would narrow or widen the wealth gap has been a topic of widespread debate. There are strong arguments on both sides, and I shall address these presently. One the one hand, supporters of technology narrowing the gap refer to the opportunities that digital technologies bring to people living in developing countries. They argue that digital technologies have provided opportunities that were out of reach to the poor and the disadvantaged in the past. They emphasise that now millions of entrepreneurs in developing countries such as China use e-commerce to sell goods, many of whom are from poor families. They further claim that technology overcomes some major barriers faced by people with disabilities in their learning activities, many of whom live in impoverished African countries such as Kenya. Those who believe the gap is widened by technology, on the other hand, argue that the effect of technology on wealth disparity is far less than expected. First, they point out the fact that a substantial portion of the world’s population still lacks access to the Internet and is excluded from the digital economy in reality. Second, it is often said that artificial intelligence and robotics are rapidly changing the labour markets. This might lead to significant middle-skill jobs being replaced by automation in poor nations. Both of these factors are causing the disparity between the rich and the poor to widen rather than narrow. In conclusion, I am more convinced that the rich-poor discrepancy can be narrowed by digital technologies in light of the opportunities they bring to the poor. So connecting the unconnected to technology is of paramount importance in making the world more equal.