For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and Math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skills be made as fourth skill to the list. To what extent do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the immense changes that digital technology has brought to learning, I think computer literacy should now be positioned as one of the basic standards of education, as equally important as reading, writing and arithmetic. To begin with, the first argument that springs to my mind is that computer skill goes beyond technical know-how. It provides a prime foundation for students in 20th century education. In the information age, the size and the complexity of data is growing exponentially across all disciplines. To master a discipline, from medical science and engineering to business, computer knowledge is required to process and analyse these various forms of data. Therefore, in order to study any professional subject, computer skill is as critical as reading, writing, and maths skills. Equally worth mentioning is that information technology allows individuals to access abundant online learning resources. As e-learning becomes more popular, many learning materials and methods are now in digital form. For example, many research papers are open not only to academic scholars, but to students of all ages. For students who know how to effectively search for articles in research databases such as Google Scholar, even middle school students are able to find supporting literature for their studies. Conversely, those who are digitally illiterate can definitely lose a valuable resource and run the risk of being left behind. In conclusion, computer literacy offers paramount skills and resources to students across disciplines. It is time we viewed computing as one of the fundamental standards of our education.