It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

With some traditional cultures declining along with the advancement of technology, whether the development of technology has a negative impact on our life has become a topic of widespread debate. Personally, I am inclined to the view that technology plays a pivotal role in promoting our valuable culture and improving our standard of living. As for our culture, it is an inevitable trend that modern digital technology is being used to revitalise traditional arts. One striking example is non-fungible tokens (NFTs). With this novel blockchain technology, an original piece of traditional art – be it a piece of music, a painting, or poem, can be divided and sold to multiple individuals. While in the past traditional arts were hardly accessible, now NFT can make traditional arts available to local and diverse communities. With the help of the Internet and social media, technology has brought traditional culture to a wider audience. Hence, technology can be an effective way to promote and preserve traditional history and wisdom. As for our life, it is undeniable that technology and the Internet has dramatically increased our standard of living and this trend certainly will not cease. With artificial intelligence and cloud technologies ever present, scientists can better use data to enhance our lives, and our health. In fact, the advancements have greatly improved our healthcare system. Particularly, during the Covid-19 pandemic, it is these technologies that have assisted governments to contain the pandemic more effectively. Without advanced technology, it would not be possible for governments to spread health awareness and manage large volumes of medical data as they do now. To conclude, if we put technology to good use, I believe it is not the enemy of traditional culture and it can greatly protect our safety and health. Of course, this assumes that governments have invested sufficient resources in culture and healthcare to reach the goal.