Do you support that the nuclear technology should be used for constructive purposes? Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. Give reasons for your viewpoint.

With the ever-increasing demands for cleaner energy, whether nuclear technology should be used for constructive purposes has become a topic of widespread debate. There are counter-arguments on both sides of this issue, which I will now discuss. On the one hand, supporters of nuclear energy argue that it can bring significant benefits to humans. They claim that it is a better alternative to energy that comes from fossil fuels such as coal and natural gas. They emphasise that nuclear energy power plants produce relatively less amounts of carbon emissions than other power plants, and thus are less polluting than fossil fuels. Second, it is often said that nuclear power is more reliable and less costly. Due to the economic advantages, many countries around the world, in particular large nations such as the US and China, continue to use nuclear technology to expand their energy resources. Opponents of nuclear energy, on the other hand, believe that the cost of nuclear energy is much higher once people's lives and the environment are factored in, and I agree. A striking example would be Japan’s nuclear disaster in 2011, which was triggered by a massive earthquake and tsunami. This nuclear emergency was beyond the reach of the Japanese government. Consequently, the leakage devastated the environment and caused the loss of significant numbers of homes and lives. Even worse, it would also cause hazards for generations to come. Therefore, we should be aware that nuclear power is a time bomb for explosion, and a nuclear catastrophe could have irreversible consequences for people and ecosystems. To conclude, life and the environment are priceless and should not be put at risk to make nuclear power. If governments take proactive actions in research and development of renewable energy, I firmly believe that it is possible to replace nuclear power plants with other safer solutions.