Today, TV channels show more men’s sports than women’s sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

Women have proven themselves in many fields including sports. Still, media or TV channel in particular prioritises covering men's sports over women's sports. This essay will outline how this is mainly related to irrelevant stereotypes and that TV channels should balance between airing women's and men's sports. Nowadays, female sports have grown and become more and more recognized worldwide, however, TV programs are still dominated by men's athletes and men's games. This is could be first attributed to the belief that women are less interested in sports and that media can't risk airing programs that are condemned to fail because no one is going to watch them. To put it differently, women are the victim of a negative stereotype that prevents them from getting the deserved attention from the media. For example, female footballers are playing in professional leagues but we never see them on TV. Therefore, TV channels choose their content from a biased view that oppress females and consider them as intrusive to sports sector. TV channels should support women's sport and give equal time to that of men because that stereotype is overcomed and females have already proven themselves in sports from football to Olympic games. In other words, TV programs should cover the women's achievements worldwide to help correct that false pattern and introduce as well as present the females ' sports to gain the merited acknowledgement. For instance, many young girls could be inspired while watching television and becomes the next world champions. Hence, there are many good reasons why sports shows should balance screen time between both genders. In conclusion, until this day, women's sports still struggle to get the needed attention from TV channels due to false stereotypes, thus, the significance and importance of shows aired on television to give equal time for females ' and males' sports.