Alternative energy source that use the natural power of the wind, waves and sun are too expensive and complicated to replace the coal, oil and gas that we use to power our cities and transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Sustainability is one of the most popular discussion topics, which everyone from all over the world needs to pay attention to. There is no shortage of a debate on whether it is too complicated and costly to replace fossil fuels with eco-friendly resources, but I believe that sustainable energy resources bring more benefits than the expenditure they cost in a long run. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. Firstly, replacing the energy sources with sustainable resources is not too complicated, compared with the situation where we ought to think about the solution to the adverse effects of keeping burning fossil fuels. For instance, it's usually said that carbon emission causes global warming over the world, which is even getting serious nowadays. In order to make an appropriate action and deal with this issue, all the governments need to discuss, enter into an agreement and cooperate, which is extremely arduous and troublesome. Hence, establishing new plants, e.g. a solar panel and a hydroelectric plant is by far more feasible. Secondly, when we discuss cost, both monetary and non-monetary impacts have to be taken into account. For example, if we keep deforesting in order to supply fossil fuel, residences of wild animals will be devastated completely, and the wild animals will extinct in the end. Although it is difficult to evaluate the monetary value of such wild animals, we need to clearly understand that the extinction is a cost we need to pay. Consequently, did we stop generating energy soon from the old types of sources, such as the coal, we would not have to make an enormous amount of sacrifice. To summarize, shifting to sustainable resources is not too complicated if we imagine the required efforts to solve the future problems and to keep utilizing fossil fuels is much more expensive, taking into account all of the sacrifices. It is therefore clear that the statement does not hold water at all. After a thorough analysis on this subject, it is predicted that the positive effects of the replacement of the existing resources with the new energy resources will always be greater than the adverse effects, and because of this, I strongly suggest that all the countries make their best efforts to substitute the energy resources as soon as possible.