Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we do not longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Most people claim that advertising can influence consumers to buy things while others believe that it is no longer effective. I partially agree with the statement and will discuss both views. On one side, I believe that advertisers are smart enough to target the appropriate audience. Customers get personalised advertisements on various platforms such as Youtube, Facebook etc. where companies analyse their customer's preferences through data science to target users based on their interests. For instance, if you have subscribed to a makeup tutorial channel on youtube then you majorly see cosmetic brands' advertisements and this can persuade a consumer to try the new products. That is why advertisers can smartly change the customer's buying behaviour as they target the right folks through the appropriate channels. On the other side, advertising has become less effective due to the increase in the number of ads on any platform. The high frequency of the ads makes a customer feel irritated due to which they hardly pay attention to it. For example, while watching any series on the OTT channel you see approximately 6-7 advertisements in 30mins, and individuals just keep on skipping the same instead of watching the whole advertisement. Thus, more ads deplete their effectiveness for the audience. Hence, higher repetitions of commercials make them irrelevant due to which the consumers do not get influenced by the product. To conclude, though many individuals believe that companies can persuade consumers to purchase their goods through advertisements, some people disagree with this opinion. Whereas, I partially believe with this statement that companies can influence people by targeting them through the right channel only.