Only rich people should donate to charity. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

While the privileged class plays an irreplaceable role in philanthropy, opinions widely diverge on whether only the wealthy ought to donate to charity or not. Although legions of people have shown total approval to this point of view, I would like to argue that charity is in a dire need of support from the whole society. On the one hand, there are good reasons why the rich tend to devote themselves to charity. To begin with, thanks to their financial advantage, the privileged have a greater personal budget to allocate, including materials for charity. In stark contrast, numerous individuals from lower classes even have difficulties earning a living which is sufficient to meet their needs, let alone sharing with others. In addition, several wealthy celebrities prefer donation on the grounds that it gives them a better reputation in public, which in turn provides the chance of promoting their careers. On the other hand, owing to human rights and duty, there is a greater number of explanations why this phenomenon should not be applied. Probably being inculcated with the misconception that only highly material-oriented values are appreciable, people are still aware that even the smallest contribution is enough to offer a lifeline to those in need. As a result, anyone can donate to charity by means of actions, in particular labour or education. Yet another reason is that the upper class is not the only one being in charge of the national life standard improvement, the lower class and middle class also have the obligation to develop the society. In conclusion, while it is true that charity is not without the great contribution from the privileged class, I still hold a belief that donation is necessary to be done by all and sundry so as to foster a great sense of altruism and humanity.