Only rich people should donate to charity. Do you agree or disagree ?

Donation for charity is no longer an unfamiliar notion to witness in our daily life, the groups of donors are varied, from the low-average people to the wealthiest one. However, many people claim that it is only the duty of the people with more money to donate. This essay would give the reasons why this statement should never be applied into our reality. On the one hand, those asserting the idea that only the wealthy should give away money for charity may have their reasons as follows. Firstly, the gap between the people from different social classes could be effectively bridged. In other words, the rich who make their monthly earnings significantly higher than the average salaries, if they donate, the general income would be more consistent, thus the gap between the poor and rich would be mitigated. Secondly, the money received from the affluent people would be more considerable than that of the poor, thereafter their cash donation would support the charity in almost every aspect from food to clothes, from medicine to education. On the other hand, donation should not be limited in terms of the property like the financial resource, and the donors should not be constrained by their earnings since donation itself stems from empathy. In a world where only rich people are the only group who support the charity, the society would then only exalt the propertied contribution in the name of the rich, and despise the help from the average-earned people; as a result, the notion of ‘ donation ’ would not radically shifted negatively. Not to mention that this statement would impose unnecessary pressure on the affluent. Although the choice of whether to donate or not depends on one’s decision, the people from the higher class of the society will receive scorns if they do not donate provided this notion exists. In conclusion, no matter why there are several people who insist on the statement that only the people who have lucrative jobs should make donations to charity, I strongly believe that this idea is of no benefit and it is not anyone’s responsibility to assist the people in poor condition.