What skills do you need to be independent? Support your answer with relevant evidence and examples.

Becoming independent is no longer in its infancy because of its importance for all people, especially for who are at a young age. However, self-reliance requires teenagers various skills such as time management or communication skills, which take a lot of effort to learn. Therefore, this essay will discuss two major skills which are essential for me to become independent. To gain autonomy, I initially need to develop managing skills in terms of time and money. In my opinion, an independent person is a person who is fully aware of what he or she intends to do and what he or she pays for. When becoming self-contained in life, time management is considered to be the most crucial skill so a well-planned schedule will certainly assist me in organizing my time properly to get all the tasks done in time without any reminders, not to mention the fact that it can also enhance my productivity and the quality of the work. In addition, money management is also really necessary for me. If I spend the money unrestrainedly and do not strive for creating a budget as well as putting aside some money, I will be tied to my mother’s apron strings forever and hardly gain success in life. Therefore knowing how to spend time and money efficiently will not only help me to become independent when leaving home for university but also make my parents happier. Furthermore, I believe problem-solving is an indispensable skill when I practice independence. As life has plenty of inevitable difficulties as well as unexpected situations, I definitely have to encounter these obstacles and cope with them on my own sooner or later. If I cannot equip myself with this skill, I will probably never be capable of splitting from my family. For example, when being complained about making noise in the flat by the neighbors, I have to flexibly and actively meet them and apologize for what I have done, not waiting for my parents to resolve it. That is absolutely the positive sign of knowing how to resolve the issue. Therefore, in my perspective, problem-solving skills are vital for teenagers when being self-contained. In conclusion, competence in managing time and money and solving problems is a key to making myself truly self-reliant. Hopefully, I can master all these skills in order to be completely prepared for my future life.