A university education is the key to getting a good job. For that reason, the government should provide enough money to the universities so everyone can get a degree for free. To what extent do you agree?

To commence with how university education helps learners get better jobs after graduating from university, it is undeniable that most lucrative job applications demand at least a university degree. For example, most prestigious jobs that come with better job security and pay scale have higher job requirements, and without university educations, it is difficult to apply for such jobs, let alone secure one. As universities teach pupils the subject matter knowledge extensively and help them learn some important soft skills, they get ready to take the professional challenges more adeptly than their counterparts. Moreover, both in developed and developing countries, postgraduates are able to command a considerable higher salary at their workplace when compared to employees with just a high school diploma. Finally, some highly respected and demanding professions, like those of doctors, pilots, engineers, architects and scientists can only be pursued, after graduating from the respective university courses. Considering all these aspects, it is undeniable that university education is perceived as a means of better employability. However, apart from preparing learners to secure lucrative and prestigious jobs after graduating, tertiary education also benefits the nation by creating educated societies, containing an immense pool of forward-thinking and enlightened individuals, who can contribute towards social development by their respective expertise. They become the leaders of tomorrow and their decisions and actions shape the community, society and the whole country. As universities have taught them skills that are useful to lead those positions, tertiary education, directly and indirectly, is immensely benefitting the country. For example, most leaders and entrepreneurs in my country are graduates of different universities and they are contributing to the development of nations from the skills they have learned from their university education. Finally, numerous long-lasting friendships, business partnerships and courtships also bloom from the university campus life that economically supports the nation.