Many people feel that urban environments are more unhealthy than they have ever been to. What do you think are the main causes of this problem? What measures can be effective in tackling this problem?

The majority of the population feels the non-rural climate is becoming more harmful than they have ever been in past decades. There are many major issues for an unhealthy habitat like more industrialization, population, pollution etc. However, there are also some solutions to these problems. One of the factors for the harmful surroundings is the Polluted atmosphere. An increase in population leads to the sale of vehicles in the city which directly affects the air quality of the urban areas. The atmosphere quality index of popular cities like Mumbai & Delhi is on the verge of declining day by day. Another important factor affecting the environment is Polluted water. Water bodies near urban localities are adulterated by industrial wastage. In metro cities, industries are constructed near rivers or lakes to decompose the waste from the outlet pipe into the water. The same water is supplied to city areas for drinking purposes. Firstly, the use of public transport in cities should be promoted widely which in turn will help reduce pollution & help improve air quality. People should prefer using office buses, local trains or trams to travel. Secondly, Government should impose strict guidelines on waste management in industries near water bodies., Also regular cleaning of these water bodies should be conducted. This will help to preserve drinking water for the city. To conclude, though the above problems seem to be hazardous for city areas, there are some ways of tackling these issues which will ensure these regions are maintaining a healthy environment.