It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of old people than young people in the future in some countries. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a saying that more and more old people will play a more important role in the composition of the population than the youngster in the background of the ageing around the world, thus others argue that it will bring some unexpected results. In this essay, l am going to explain why l tend to agree with the passive view of such a change. To begin with, at the heart of this matter is that young people have to undergo a huge pressure of supporting old people, from the point of individuals. Nowadays, it is very difficult for these adults who are only sons or daughters for their parents with their limited wages to feed the old parents, since their old family members lack the income to carry out all types of expenses for life after retirement excepted for the little pension, especially in some developing countries where people pay attention to the eldership. According to a survey, more than half of Chinese employees spend 1000 dollars per month to maintain their parents’ expenditures, which forces them to increase the workload to meet the requirement of overtime pay. Another main reason for this point is that social stability will face a challenge due to an unstable pension system in a nation. As far as l know, the system of social pension is one of the most significant sections for governments, once the more elders who have to take up a lot of national resources exist, the more financial support will be put into these old people for the authorities. By contrast, for some states with poor economic conditions, a shortage of public pensions is causing damage to the survival problems, which even develops the shoplifting of the old people in Latin America. In conclusion, l firmly argue that a worse future will be witnessed if we do nothing to improve such a situation on the grounds of both individual and social stress when it comes to ageing.