Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In the fast-paced world that we presently reside in, the food craze has significantly changed society. It is believed that increasing the cost of sugar would reduce consumption among the people as it impacts their health. I opine that even though processed food contains a higher percentage of sugar, lifting the price is not the best way to control the intake. On the one hand, sugar has become part and parcel of everyone's life. Every day a person consumes directly or indirectly some amount of sugar. For instance, food products like bread and biscuits contain it. Raising the price of these sugary products will dramatically impact the economy and lifestyle, especially the people who eat food to satisfy hunger and the families who have low income. Those kinds of people cannot afford to buy the product, which will lead to starvation. Consequently, it impacts their lifestyle. On the other hand, instead of swiping up the value of manufactured foods and beverages, as a precautionary measure, people should first understand what they eat by checking the ingredients added to the products. Government or healthcare organizations can regularly conduct awareness programs to advise people about the causes of higher glucose and help them know about the food styles followed by ancestors. Nowadays, school-going children prefer manufactured foods because of their taste. They can be taught about preservatives and their impact of it in the long run. People who already follow a diet plan can reach out to their nutritions or dietitians to get a balanced schedule, like taking up brown bread instead of white or other alternatives to lead a healthy lifestyle. To conclude, increasing the price of any product alone will not bring up a healthier environment. In my opinion, every individual's responsibility has to take care of themselves and their family by taking up nourishing foods instead of running after the look and taste of the products.