Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

An increasing number of people have been purchasing private cars nowadays, which leads to serious traffic congestion and pollution problems. Some would argue that the best way to tackle this issue is to increase the petrol price. I disagree with this idea. In this essay, the reason why I disagree will be explained, followed by suggestions for better methods. It is true that a higher price of fossil fuels would deter some individuals from driving their own cars, so they would take public transports, which could help reduce vehicles running on roads, thus controlling the pollutant emissions to some degree. However, the benefits of doing so are rather limited. This is because the rising petrol price means that the fee for public transport would also grow. In such a case, the majority of people would still choose to travel by their own vehicles as long as they can afford it. Thus, increasing the price of petrol oil is certainly not the best method. There are better practices that could be used to deal with these two problems. First of all, instead of simply increasing the petrol price, governments could reduce the prices of public transport such as buses, subways, and light trains and make them more comfortable for passengers to travel with. This way, people would be more willing to use public transport. Another more practical method would be to encourage citizens to ride bicycles by investing more funding in cycle routes. With more journeys made by bicycles, the number of vehicles running on roads would effectively decrease. In conclusion, the ever-increasing price of fossil fuels is unable to solve the traffic and pollution problems effectively. Better methods could be used. The government can allocate more money to increase the public transport services and to build more cycle routes to encourage people to reduce the use of private cars.