Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although, nowadays some people believe that the better way of controlling crime is to give a criminal a longer time in prison. Other some believe that there are alternative methods of reducing crime in a society. In my,opinion it giving imprisonment depends upon to what extent the crime is committed. On the one hand, some consider that the long imprisonment the lesser in crime rate, in the other words considering long imprisonment will have a mental effect on committing an offence. For,example, in Dubai those committing a crime like rape have lifetime imprisonment and for a, theft they literally cut smash off their hand. So this law of committing a crime has reduced the crime rate almost to zero, thus a longer stay in prison will stop an individual to stop before being involved in a crime. On the other hand, some people consider other options to be much more helpful in reducing crime in a society, such as a person who has carried out a crime has been forced to be involved in free community work. This will enable them in improve their mentality and also be beneficial to society. Moreover doing free work for a society like cleaning parks and public washrooms and so on, will help them rehabilitate offenders and help the people at the same time. Thus this will also clear that there is also alternative way of long imprisonment. In my opinion, how an individual should be punished depends on the nature and motive of the crime they have performed, but there should be a prolonged crimes such as murder and rape as the criminal should be announced a death strictly. People involved in lesser degree offences can be punished by the other means of punishment. To conclude, stating my opinion about reducing crime by a prolonged stay in a prison will not change a person's alternative method, of free community work will definitely change a person and teach him how to live in a society.