Planting trees is very important for the environment. Some people say trees should be planted in the vacant areas of cities and towns, while others believe housing facilities should be built instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

No doubt that trees are essential for the environment, but the jury is still out on whether it is worth planting them in cities or building dwellings on free space instead. I think both opinions are reasonable, however, a context should be considered to opt for a solution. Nowadays, a huge number of the modern metropolis have concerns about growing negative impacts on the environment, driven by human activities. But nature tends to be not so resilient as it was believed, and some conscious efforts are necessary to reduce footprints. Consequently, planting trees in vacant areas might be one measure to decrease air pollution and protect from noise, but,as a downside, it is not able to eliminate the problem at all and other measures are required. On the other hand, more and more people prefer to live in an urban area, attracted by greater career opportunities and developed infrastructure. But the supply of housing is significantly below high demand, making prices soar. Consequently, people can not afford to buy their own property and suffer greatly from it. I think, achievable housing facilities, as a basic need, should be the primary goal for the government and I support efforts in favour of building new houses. To sum up, when deciding how to use vacant areas in cities, we usually deal with trade-offs between nature and human needs. Although the environment is important, currently, the housing bottleneck seems more crucial, which persuades us to give privilege at least for a short term. However, I assume in the future situation may change and the planting of trees could be given higher priority.