Water is in short supply in many countries of the world, but consumption of water by families is increasing. Why is this happening? What can be done to preserve water?

Water is one of the most critical resources globally and for humans. In the fast-paced world that we presently reside in, the trend of city urbanization has attributed to the water intake by people has increased and has caused the shortage. However, these issues can be addressed by some possible solutions. Firstly, one of the significant causes of water shortage is industrial development. The chemical from the factories is discharged into the water sources, contaminating the water resources. Secondly, the migration of people from rural to urban in search of employment has overpopulated the cities. Due to civilization, the pollution has drastically increased in the metropolia. For instance, The lakes and rivers that served as the primary water source in our ancestral period were thoroughly contaminated by industrial waste emissions and people dumping the waste material around the water resources. As a result, water demand has dramatically increased, not sufficient to satisfy human needs. On the other hand, to overcome these water -related problems, the government has made an initiative to increase the groundwater level, one of the soundest solutions is called rainwater harvesting, where every house built in the country has to build connections to make the rainwater reach the ground surface so that it increases the water level under the ground. For example, in Tamilnadu, when individuals go for building approval, they have to show the map of rainwater harvesting in their building. In addition, water can be recycled from the recycling plants and used for gardening purposes, which are currently being followed in many big technology parks. Considerably, If these solutions are followed, problems occurring related to water can be controlled to an extent. To conclude, urbanization and industrial development are the most significant cause of the short supply of water in major cities, contaminating the water and raising the water demand. This problem can be addressed by building up a rainwater storage system and developing water recycling plants to purify the contaminated water.