Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to more school work. How do you think children should spend their free time?

Time is of the essence, and everyone should use it wisely. Some people think that because children have plenty of spare time they need to do extra school work. I, however, do not believe that studying is the optimum use of these valuable hours. Rather, the young could socialize, play or read for fun. First of all, if children spent more school hours, they would burn out faster, thus their educational performance would decline. Instead, they could use their free time to socialize and play with others of their age group. They could go to the park, for instance, and spend time with their classmates or neighbours' sons and daughters. As a result, they would get a chance to not only develop their communication skills, but also to enjoy their time doing so. Moreover, there are other ways by which children can benefit from their free time without putting too much pressure on them. Recreational reading is one of these activities. The publishing industry, for example, releases a wide variety of children's books, which are categorized based on age and genres. In my opinion, although reading can seem dull to some people, it does wonders to a child's imagination. In addition, it has been proven to develop people's creativity, empathy and cognitive functions. In conclusion, even though some people believe that children should spend their free time on school work, I totally disagree with them. Beneficial alternatives could be meeting up with their friends, or reading novels and short stories tailored specifically for them.