Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

All subjects that are taught in school, have their own importance, which helps in the overall development of the students. Although, many individuals think that subjects such as mathematics and philosophy should be considered optional and not compulsory. Hence, I totally disagree with this statement and according to, me more focus should be on such subjects. This essay will cover the importance of these subjects and a conclusion thereafter. To begin with, Math is one of the most important subjects for the students. The reason is, that it helps in dealing with calculations and analytical problems. Furthermore, it prepares the students for calculations which are done in day-to-day life. For example, if a person goes to a shopping mall to buy groceries one should be aware of the total one needs to pay. In other words, people find it difficult to perform calculations who have not taken mathematics as their main subject. Thus, leaving maths as a choice in primary and secondary is not a good idea. Apart from this, many people believe the same thing in philosophy also. This as a subject is very much important for the development of character as well as understanding the positives and negatives of life. In addition, philosophy helps you identify the thinking process of people. For instance, this subject teaches logical analysis which is very much important in understanding different things. Therefore, philosophy is an essential subject and should be taken as a compulsory module. In conclusion, it is true that maths and philosophy are different subjects when compared with other subjects, but, they should not be dropped in options as they play a very crucial role in developing various aspects in a person's life such as attitude, logic and analytical capabilities etc.