Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Fuels are considered to be the non-renewable sources of energy, which cost is gradually increasing throughout the period and is believed that a rise in the prices is the sole way to diminish the consumption of gas and put less pressure on the resources. While this approach can be proved beneficial up to some extent, it is not necessarily the best method. There is no doubt that some people believe that the increment in price will reduce the usage of the gases. First of all, with costly prices of fuel, people will generally stop or at least reduce using their cars. Besides this, people will also start using more public vehicles. If a person wants to go to their workplace he/she would take the public bus rather than their own car. For instance, It has been proven many times that the usage of public transport always grows with the increase in the prices of gases. This trend, as a result, has helped to preserve the fuels. However, there is no guarantee that the fuel with an expensive price tag is a solution to reduce their utilization. Initially, The potential solution is to aware people of their excessive usage of fuels. Moreover, People of any country are not only getting fuel vehicles but also they are getting high-end electric motor cars, so they should be encouraged to use them, consequently it will result in fuel savings. Apart from this, the government can impose high taxes to control the purchase of private vehicles, as less number of people will use motors and oils. For example, Various studies conducted in Singapore concluded that fuel consumption has declined by more than 50% since 2015 due to the implementation of an extra tax rate by the government. Thus, stringent tax laws and awareness among people would help in curbing this menace. To conclude, despite the growing prices of gas throughout the globe over the decades, I believe that it cannot be assumed it is the best method as there are some effective alternatives to do this, Therefore, it is necessary to be wise towards our energy source of oils.