Some people say that the only reason for learnign a foreign languate is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

People have been debating over the purpose of learning foreign language whereas some people believe that it was only useful in travelling to or working in a foreign country and others point out that knowing other language can be useful in various fields. From my opinion, I believe that having the ability of speaking more than one language can have upper hands in different kinds of cases and explain both sides of perspectives in this essay. To begin with, the advocates of this phenomenon highlight that majority of the people who are learning to a foreign language are travellers or workers who have a tendency to go abroad. Therefore, travellers must need to know the language of the country they will visit as they will likely to have a great chance to learn the cultures and traditions with ease by knowing their language. Likewise, employees who will work in foreign countries will surely need to communicate with co-workers and write documents related to jobs. Beside these reasons, people who will not learn another language will have more free time which can used to learn specialized subjects like science and technology. On the other hand, opponents of this issue say that the increasing number of students who will study abroad are also becoming the common reason in society. Not only that, bilinguals or multilinguals are more active in pocessing possessing a function since they usually have to translate the meaning of sentences from mother language to another language and vice visa. Furthermore, the world has become the village thanks to advanced technologh, people can communicate with each other easily through online and knowing more than one language is the key factor in communication. In a nutshell, I pen down saying that travelling and working are not main reasons anymore for learning foreign language since the technology has developed and it contributes in so many matters besides those.