Today, majority of children are raised by their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working. To what extent do you think it affects the whole family?

It is common that in this day and age, most kids are uplifted by their grandmothers and grandfathers because their parents have to work. In my opinion, there are both pros and cons to this contention. There are many reasons, why this development has advantages if you ask me. In the first place, parents have less stress. This means they can focus on their work fully. As well as this, it is possible for them to take business trips or stay longer at the workplace. As a rule, grandparents know how to rear children because they were also used to being a parent. Not only that, but the younger generation can develop a good bond with the older generation. Having a strong connection in the family can help our young to grow in a healthy environment, which is full of love and caring. Having said that, however, there are reasons why this view has problems, the way I see it. In the first place, fathers and mothers do not understand their kids' psychological needs if they do not spend time with them. To name but one example, kids lack strong parental attachments. Accordingly, the insecure attachment may result in them feeling anxious, having low self-esteem, and even maintaining emotional distance from their caregivers. As well as this, grandparents may spoil our very young. For instance, permissive grandparenting is very common in China. Children may get the idea that they can have all they want and whenever they want it. This is bad for their social development. They are impatient and more likely to get angry with others inappropriately when they do not meet their needs. This will make things very difficult for them in their later life. Teachers, employers and colleagues will not tolerate such behaviour. Turning to my own experience, the way things are when it comes to this matter in China is much the same as it was across the world over. My home city of Lanzhou is a classic case in point. Here, many parents leave for jobs in other big cities. As a result, left-behind children experience loneliness, which is connected with depression and a sense of abandonment. In conclusion, there are both merits and shortcomings to all choices we make in the course of life, both as individuals and as a society. Every parent holds different values in child-rearing, and it also depends on their social and financial circumstances whether they need external support in this regard.