Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

This notion that which one of inherited characteristics or experiences and learned materials has more impression on our personality always has been a matter of debate between psychiatrists and other people. I think that influence of these factors is relative, and both can have a greater impact than each other based on the person him/herself. In the following, I am going to discuss my opinion comprehensively. To begin with, it has certainly been proven that some features are inherited genetically from our ancestors for instance, the apparent characteristics, memory and intellectual power, and some psychiatric disorders such as obsessive-compulsive disorder. These afore-mentioned materials can affect personality in that short height and lack of good cognitive and mental capability may be destructive for a person, but not everyone pays much attention to height, or if this matter is very important for a person, he/she would use special drugs to increase his/her height. Similar to this case, there is a variety of medicines to boost mental abilities and memory. Moreover, personally, I think the obsessive-compulsive disorder is something more serious in as much as this disease can show itself in different aspects of a man’s life for example, in sanitation, way of thinking, manner of treating people and etc., and the more someone treats in such obsessive manner, the more deleterious effects of this disease will appear, but like other mental disorders it is controllable, and sometimes curable. Therefore, people can overcome obsessiveness by visiting psychiatrists, and maybe consuming some pills. So, in my opinion, most of our identity is being built by our experiences, learned things and our endeavour to control or change the situation rather than the inherited features which we are born with. To sum up