In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, technology develops constantly. There is a prospective plan to turn all vehicles such as trucks, buses and cars to be autonomous. Passengers will be the only people inside them. I believe businesses can cut costs by using self-driving cars, these advantages far outweigh any potential drawbacks. On the one hand, self-driver cars could lead to large employment losses. Now, in many countries, an enormous number of people are making a living by driving as bus drivers, car drivers and truckers. Imagine all these people are made redundant by autonomous cars. This will raise the number of unemployed people in these countries significantly. However, I think that can be avoided if drivers reskill to get themselves a job in a different industry. On the other hand, autonomous cars can aid businesses to save a huge amount of money. In other words, with these vehicles, they would not need to hire drivers to deliver their products or services to their customers. For instance, the American logistics company UPS currently has hundred of thousands truck drivers and pays them an average of $60,000 annually, which adds up to tens of billions of dollars every year. Replacing these drivers with autonomous cars could mean that these a huge salary amounts can be eliminated. Therefore, i think that could create a great benefit for societies as a whole because companies could devote the money they save on labour to other aspects of their business, which mean cheaper, and better quality for consumers. In addition, companies could develop and construct a new industry which will provide more job opportunities. In conclusion, although self- drivers vehicles would result in many job losses. I believe these drawbacks is a greatly outweighed by the upside that these vehicles could help businesses save operating costs.