Some people believe it is a good idea for students to work part-time to ensure better opportunities in future. Others are of the opinion, job during study distracts the individual. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Working part-time for students can lead to better prospects in their careers while some people are of the opinion that their jobs can also distract them from their studies. While more experience will always help but will also impact their academic results. Both the opinions are discussed in the detail below. In my opinion, Firstly, a part-time occupation will provide more exposure to the student especially if the occupation is in the same area of study. It will help the students to get the confidence of meeting new people and also handle difficult situations at work, this will help them to climb the corporate ladder. Real-time jobs can add more value and help them evolve as a person to cope with practicalities of the society. Additionally, it will also serve as a good source of income for pupils. They can raise their own funds for their education while gaining real-time professional experience. However, working while studying can impact the academic results. A career can also be tough or demanding, extra working hours sometimes may result in less time for studies. Sometimes they might miss their extra classes because of the work commitments which hampers their overall course results. If they are dealing with any tension at their workplace, their concentration level also gets impacted while studying. Hence, a job while the ongoing academic year can take a toll on their studies. To conclude, although the part-time experience can give a good amount of exposure and extra income it might also take a toll on their study time. To overcome this, many universities have adapted only 40 hours of monthly part-time experience rule. This will help them maintain a balance between their work & academics.