Some people believe that time spent on television and computer games can be valuable for children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The advancement in technology influences the living standard of human beings to the extent that we cannot survive without it even for a second. Some people advocate that time spends on leisure activities like television and computer games is lucrative for the juveniles, while others say that it has many negative ramifications in the long term. I think that it has more negative impacts on the health and development of kids. No doubt technology has many rich rewards for the mental development of humankind. In the first place, audio-visual activities make learning easier and quicker because it seems more interesting to kids. For example, nowadays toddlers can learn multi-languages and many other gestures from cartoons as parents do not have enough time because of chronic busyness. In addition to this, video games help teenagers to become more independent as they learn how to make their own decisions and how they can solve their own problems in hard situations. On the other hand, more screen time also has enormous detrimental effects on health and fitness. Firstly, more screen time means a bad effect on the eyes because the bright light directly affects the eyesight. According to research conducted in the USA in 1977, more than 80% of school-going students have specs who spend more time on laptops but only 5% of students use specs who love outdoor plays. Moreover, it dramatically reduces the physical work as you do not need to move around while playing online games. As a result, children are suffering from chronic diseases like overweight and diabetes which have detrimental effects in the long term. In conclusion, screen time is more entertaining and easily accessible and also helps to improve critical thinking. However, it has numerous bad influences on mental and physical health which are worth considering. From the above-depicted points, I personally believe that there should be a limit on screen time and kids have to involve more in outdoor activities to maintain their health.