In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

With advances in modern medicine, people are now able to live longer. This has caused the rise of an aging population and new expenses for their care. Some argue that the cost of care for the elderly should be placed solely on the government and not the family. I, on the other hand, believe that the cost should be split between the two parties. To begin with, the cost of living in an elderly home has become unbelievably high. It has become unrealistic to believe that individual family members can carry this burden fully. With the average person making around 70000 pounds per year, individuals can barely cover the price of their own basic needs. For example the cost of living for their children and households. So adding the burden of paying fully for their parent's care will place more stress on the individual and will cause more harm than good. Although the full cost of care should not be the responsibility of the family, I believe a comprise can be reached. In which the government pays 75% and the concerned party pays 25%. Such a compromise is more realistic. Furthermore, governments have a responsibility to take care of their citizens. The ageing population was once a functioning member of society, and has paid taxes for a long time. A feasible option for the government to consider, is to take a small percentage of taxes paid by a citizen and use it to cover healthcare costs in the future. By doing so, they can give back to the society they are meant to serve. It is essential for governments to do so, in order to achieve a well-balanced society. On the other hand, authorities have to deal with other budgeting issues such as infrastructure maintenance, and defence budgeting. So asking them to pay the full price is also too rigid. To conclude, I would argue that asking governments to pay the full price of elderly care is somewhat unrealistic. A more realistic approach can be taken, in which both regimes and family members work together to cover the costs of elderly care.