Countries should restrict foreign companies from opening offices and factories in order to protect local business. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

It is often believed that regulation is necessary to prevent foreign companies from opening businesses to secure local work. I partially agree with this, for growing globalization leads to the disappearance of local factories and offices regardless of foreign companies stimulating local ones to expand their business opportunities. On the one hand, strict restrictions should be imposed on foreign companies since they can damage local businesses. In other words, more local industries are replaced by foreign firms, which can offer a higher quality of service at a lower cost. For instance, a Chinese furniture store near my house is becoming popular due to its superior sustainability to locally made products since the former usually lasts 5 years longer than the latter. Thus, the emergence of such an international product is more likely to lead to the disappearance of local companies as well as unique skills and intelligence passed down for a long history, making it necessary for the government to discourage their business activities. On the other hand, intervention from the government is not needed because of a positive effect that foreign business has on local works, resulting from rising incentives. Indeed, the profits of local firms grow higher since they compete with one another, trying to attract more customers. For instance, small local rice companies in Ishikawa are successful in producing more nutritious rice called "Koshihikari"as they imitate foreign products. Consequently, local businesses are not only able to earn more money but also increase knowledge and skills for survival in the competition. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that restrictions should be imposed on foreign companies to protect traditional intelligence and techniques passed down from ancestors. However, there is a potential benefit to local industries as they are more motivated to produce new items, which allows them to prosper.