A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. What extent do you agree.

The safety of citizens in a country is often the most important topic discussed by its constituents. This has led many to argue that the defence budget is the most important aspect of a government's spending portfolio and should overtake social security. I disagree with that statement and believe that these benefits are another way in which governments ensure the safety of their population. To begin with, benefits in the form of healthcare, and pensions are an integral part of people's safety. By ensuring that a populace has access to good medical care and receives a monthly salary you are leading the way to a more peaceful life. If a country lacked these measures it would be just as cruel as being attacked by an enemy, people will also be suffering. They will also suffer from poor health and poverty. Moreover, by spending on such,items you are ensuring a quality of life for members within a state. Which is more important than your ability to defend against an invading country. On the other hand, spending on defence is important in its own right. The ability of a society to evade attacks should be considered, but not at the expense of pensions and medical care. Once they are able to cover these basic needs they can move on to find other ways to protect themselves. Moreover, this does not only mean weapons and fighter jets but could also mean investing in better ways of diplomacy and finding common ground. To conclude, although investments in items that repel enemy attacks are important. I do not agree that this should come at the expense of the basic needs of a population.