Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In curriculum vitae, someone has to mention their personal interests and likings apart from their professional and educational achievements. Therefore, a proportion of people consider it unnecessary during job interviews. However, in my opinion, it is good to have some knowledge about the personal life of the applicants. People who favour the idea of asking for information about marital status, speciality and likings while applying for a job may favour this because employers could imagine about applicant's personality. Because strong and innovative people have some kind of adventurous hobbies. But, on the other hand,an average man could have likings and interests in small little and daily chores type things. Furthermore, from marital status, an employee's availability and concentration on work could be estimated. For example, if somebody has hobbies like reading books and newspapers then one can guess that the person likes to be updated about the world and is eager to grab knowledge and information, in contrast to someone who likes sleeping and shopping. On the other hand, according to some asking information like hobbies and marital status is irrelevant. They might think this because one can not judge an applicant's efficiency and competency from his hobbies. Because the majority of the population has different types of attitudes during work time and at home. Generally, people like to relax at home after working hours and also set their hobbies in that way. For example, I am the kind of person who is very attentive and energetic at the job but after coming back home I am a kind of lazy person who likes to nap and do nothing. In conclusion,asking about married or not and about the hobbies of an applicant is absolutely fine because it might help an employer in making some judgements about the person who is applying for the job.