Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sport, while others think it is a negative. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the issue of companies’ sponsorship in sports has been a subject of heated debate. Some people assert that the corporation’s investment in sports is a good effect on the sports areas although its main aim is advertising themselves while others argue otherwise. Personally, I strongly agree with the former stance. In this essay, the views and reasons will be exerted before a conclusion is reached with my opinion. On the one hand, some believe that corporate sponsorship of sports which aims to their advertisement has a bad effect on the development of sports because it often threatens fair play in sports. For example, athletes can get more companies’ sponsorship as many as win their games. This leads to sportsmen often playing unfairly. In fact, recent research has shown that over 60 percent of people think that baseball which has the largest investment of corporations is the most unfair sport in Korea. In my point of view, however companies’ investment in sports could lead to the development of sports even if its purpose is advertising their products because it helps many sportsmen who suffered from financial problems despite potential good ability. Furthermore, companies’ money also can improve the facilities of sports while the government could not do it because of a lack of money. In conclusion, is a contentious topic because there are opinions that support and oppose this basic idea. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I personally believe that the advantages of companies’ investment in sports for their advertising far outweigh the drawbacks.