It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the very daunting demography our society has faced since the twentieth century as well as the ageing of certain structures require subsequent investments in the development of myriad establishments. Nevertheless, rather than losing time by erecting new lodgings, some might consider promoting renovation instead. Thus, it begs the question: By which strategy can more positive effects be derived? This essay aims to answer this question by supporting the thesis that repairing old premises may have meliorative aspects. To begin with, one clear reason to invest in enhancing our current properties is to avoid waste by not only reaping the benefits of former endeavours undertaken but also dodging any demolition procedures. For instance, many policies with regards to repairing and renovating old lodgings in France were recently voted for and stipulated that a lot of money will be given to families living in old houses and apartments to perform their ecological transition. Also, Another argument in favour of not getting rid of formerly built housing is about inhibiting the stress humanity puts on natural spaces. Furthermore, whereas repairing them only demands undertaking changes on already urbanized lands, destroying blank natural areas becomes mandatory when raising more constructions. Thus, owing to this, even though it could offer modern flats or houses to many families, this policy would have disastrous consequences on ecosystems and biodiversity. In conclusion, repairing and renovating our available infrastructures seem to be undeniable and better options. If this path is followed in the future, this policy could drive us away from a plethora of adverse impacts that the environment could undergo.