Today, more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for people who visit such places?

It is undeniable that owing to cutting-edge technology, people can travel to the other side of the world to remote places which are not visited by many people. While many are of the opinion that going to little known places brings about many drawbacks in terms of the lack of safety and security there are those who disagree entirely believing that this is a better way to broaden their vision and gain myriad experiences. Which of the two aforementioned schools of thought offers more rewards? This essay will discuss both negatives and positives of this trend with supporting examples. On one hand, a clear advantage is that travelling to unusual countries allows people to learn about new cultures which are totally different from their own cultures. For example, South Sudan which is situated in Africa has an uncommon belief because they use cattle as a symbol of social status. Thus they don’t spend money but use the number of cows instead. Moreover, when people go to countries with difficult situations such as extremely hot or cold weather or unfamiliar food, they may learn how to survive in daunting environments. Hence, it is apparent that people can reap all the benefits of roaming to different countries. On the other hand, a distinct disadvantage is planning a trip to distant places may result in a plethora of dangerous events for instance robberies and accidents,especially for beginners who cannot tackle these problems by themselves. Furthermore, many may spend a great deal of money on preparing a trip in order to hire local guides, buy safety devices and travelling insurance. As a consequence, people face numerous challenges when they go to secluded places. In closing, there are clearly pluses and minuses due to taking a trip to far countries. Although they have new experiences and have a propensity to be more open to different cultures, they may encounter harsh environments. If everybody has a fear of making a journey to hidden areas, society will be more isolated and people may have less empathy.