Today, more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for people who visit such places?

It is undeniable that owing to cutting-edge technology, folk can travel to the other side of the world to remote sites which are not visited by many. While some are of the opinion that going to little known areas brings about many drawbacks in terms of the lack of safety and security there are those who disagree entirely believing that it is a better way to broaden their vision and gain myriad experiences. Which of the two aforementioned schools of thought offers more rewards? I will discuss both negatives and positives of this trend with supporting examples herein. On one hand, travelling to unusual lands allows for the learning of new cultures which are totally different from one's own culture. For example, South Sudan which is situated in Africa has an uncommon belief because they use cattle as a symbol of social status. Thus they don’t spend money but use the number of cows instead. Moreover, when communities go to regions with difficult situations such as extremely hot or cold weather or unfamiliar food, they may learn how to survive in daunting environments. Hence, it is apparent that society can reap all the benefits of international roaming. On the other hand, planning a trip to distant spots may result in a plethora of dangerous events for instance robberies and accidents,especially for beginners who cannot tackle these problems by themselves. Furthermore, many may spend a great deal of money on preparing a trip in order to hire local guides, buy safety devices and travelling insurance. As a consequence, the public face numerous challenges when going to secluded zones. To conclude, there are clearly pluses and minuses of taking trips to far states. Although they have new experiences and have a propensity to be more open to different cultures, they may encounter harsh environments. If everybody has a fear of making a journey to hidden areas, society will be more isolated and may have less empathy.