Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Governing bodies should invest more in rails instead of roadways. I partially agree with this statement. This essay will substantiate my opinion in the following paragraphs with relevant examples. There are numerous benefits of spending more on subways. To begin with, rail transport is the cheapest mode of transport as it accumulates the more number of passengers due to which it costs less and more people prefer to use this mode even while travelling long distances. According to a recent survey, more than 10 million individuals commute through this medium on daily basis. In addition to that, railways also provide the facility for goods transportation that helps the population to grow their businesses and that eventually leads to the economic growth of the nation. For example, many of my friends have online businesses and they get orders from different parts of the world and to deliver those parcels, they use rails. However, the administration should also spend an equal amount on highways for the following reasons. Firstly, it helps to cater for the audience that uses their own private vehicles as having good roads with appropriate lighting will prevent them from unnecessary accidents. As per a recent study, 60% of accidents at night happen due to darkness and can be prevented. Secondly, by spending more on the roads and making them smooth, the government can collect the toll tax from the human beings which will again help in the economic development of the country. To conclude, considering the above-mentioned points, it is evident that government should uniformly distribute their sources to both modes of transportation for the sake of individual advancement and economic development.