many manufactured food and drink product contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problem. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. do you agree or disagree ?

Many health issues that people worldwide suffer from are linked to the abusive consumption of sugar particularly found in manufactured food and drinks. Thus, it is suggested that raising those goods' prices would affect the behaviour of consumers in a way that limits their purchase of such products. In my view, I disagree with this belief and hold that there are more adequate ways to tackle this problem. People's tendency to consume canned food or soft drinks is constantly increasing resulting in multiple and sometimes serious health problems, this could mainly be attributed to the lack of awareness and individuals' ignorance of those goods' components. Sugar is always found in high quantities in manufactured foods and drinks explaining the sweet and addictive taste that most people can't resist. For instance, obesity has become a challenging dilemma even among children because school most school cafeterias' menu provides prepackaged food and snacks. Therefore, many diseases could be prevented if our consumption of those products is reduced. It is deemed that increasing the prices of sugary products would encourage people to limit their purchase of sweet aliments because not all people can afford them, hence, it would indirectly modify their habits. However, this could not solve this problem since most aliments contain sugar, let alone the damage that factories and companies would face. For example, an expensive market would only widen the social gap in a way that sugary products would be restricted to the bourgeoisie class. Consequently, I believe that sensitising customers about the health hazards and threats resulting from adopting an imbalanced diet and raising awareness as well as encouraging them to read the ingredients on the goods labelling are efficient solutions. In conclusion, while it is deemed that sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar in order to decrease related numerous diseases, I, on the other hand, disagree and challenge that this would create more problems than it solves.