Some people believed that maintaining public libraries is a waste of time because nowadays, computer technology can easily replace their purpose. To what extend do agree or disagree?

It is argued that public libraries may not be necessary for people as computer technology can be easily replaced them. I’m not agreed with this statement. Public libraries are not just a library as they can be served it purpose as a common area in their community. On the one hand, there are many ways to access digital books and knowledge using the computer. For instance, firstly, people can easily access many bills by using a computer and the internet. It is very convenient now a day to search and download many books which you want to read via the virtual library. Secondly, it’s a more flexible location for reading digital books because they can be saved on your laptop, and you can bring them along with you when you are travelling to different places. On the other hand, public libraries were the ideal area to search and read books. There are plenty of books and spaces for everyone in the community to use. Computer technology cannot replace its purpose in some instances. For example, firstly, rooms and common areas can be used for activities and events such as reading stories or playing sessions for the kids. Secondly, some people prefer to work at the library than work from home as it’s a quiet area and has many supporting facilities including air-conditioning, toilet, private rooms, and plenty of common areas. In conclusion, in my opinion maintaining public libraries are necessary as it’s a common area for society. The place can be used in many ways in addition to a place to store the books. They can be the perfect place to arrange activities and free public space for everyone in the town.