You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

With advancements in technology, particularly in the medical field, life expectancy has increased and as a result, society has to care for elderly people and I feel society is doing it currently. Information contained within the following paragraphs will explore my view and how we can manage taking care of elderly people. First and foremost, elderly people might definitely face some problems as they live longer. For example, it might be difficult for them to travel to other parts of the city. Since they have retired, they even might not have a penny in their pocket to live or to eat and finally, it might be difficult for old people to afford expensive health care facilities. Moreover, parents living far away from their families may not have a proper home and beds to live. The Government and society are taking great responsibility for solving the issues mentioned above. For instance, the government is not only providing pensions for retired people, so that, they can spend that money to live, but also they give health cards to old people, which provide great discounts when they undergo expensive treatments in hospitals. For old citizens, who are not having a proper home to live, communities are planning to construct one apartment solely for elder ones and apart from that, there is special transportation as well, which is provided to them like special buses for the old to travel. To sum up, old people are increasing day by day and their life expectancy has increased because of the advancement in medical technology. Though there are a few issues old people are facing, and in my view, those are manageable as government and society are taking great responsibility for solving them.