In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? you should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

As the time changes, so does society. When we compare the current trend of university choices with the ones in the past, we are able to see more options on college choices and the shift towards studying abroad. This essay will elaborate more on the advantages and the disadvantages of being an international student. There is plethora of advantages of earning a degree abroad. Firstly, person who takes classes in other nation is more self-sufficient and reliable. They are in charge of everything in their life, from learning, cleaning, cooking, even to self-soothe. Case in point, an international student will have to cook for themselves especially when they are missing cuisine from home country or a mother’s recipe. Secondly, overseas study promotes intercultural understanding, since it is a hub for people all over the world who are in pursuit of similar dreams. For example, through immersion in the multicultural city New York, an Indonesian undergraduate finds herself loving Baklava and learning Turkish from her roommate, therefore learning more about Turkey. Thirdly, being in a new environment encourages class-taker to exercise their language capability. For instance, a graduate from Haiti taking his master degree in Germany needs a B2 language certificate to understand better in class and to communicate fluently with his neighbors. The disadvantages of living overseas do come naturally. To begin with, living on your own in a new country can feel overwhelmingly lonely. The wave of needs that comes and goes, from missing parents back home or longing to see friends in other places are a given. The problem lies when one does not know how to control such emotion. Furthermore, there is an additional stress regarding documentation and administrative process that may vary from home-country. Lastly, living in a bigger country can be expensive. To conclude, studying in foreign land comes with its upside and downside. However, the writer believes the voyage to fulfill one’s aspiration and potential never comes easy and the case differs individually. Whatever choice the student pick; abroad or at home, it should be made accordingly with their plan and their goal in life.