Many people feel that media coverage has becoming increasingly biased today. Why is this? What can be done to fix this problem?

Over the past few decades, News has become the 4th pillar of democracy. Media supports freedom of speech hence there is a group of people that thinks media these days doesn't focus on the truth rather it supports favouritism. In the forthcoming, paragraphs one is going to discuss causes and evolve solutions from them. Media plays a vital role in day-to-day life. It keeps us connected with the outer world with a single click. In earlier time only government-regulated news channel was in existence and their only motto was to deliver the news. However, today journalism has become a business too; Each media houses want to be the first in the race for TRP. Moreover, The channels which are getting immense views also get a significant amount to showcase brand advertisements and in the,end it all leads to biased news. On the other hand, favouritism can be controlled. To begin with, a government body should actively participate to eliminate such biased views. Furthermore, the media consumers can play an important role. People should have the courage to raise their voice against such media houses or shows and with the help of technology it is certainly possible. For instance, A famous celebrity gave a statement that has hurt the sentimental values of a specific religion. People have started a trend on Twitter to boycott the actor’s upcoming movie and they succeeded too. To conclude, Every business owner will think of a way to increase the reach and profit of the business so does the media houses too. However, Who can stop or control them? The answer is simple, the consumer and government. The government should have rules and regulations which stop them and consumers can also take charge by boycotting such shows.