Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn ,and should not have to pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

*Compliance with tax has always been a topical issues from time immemorial. Some individuals think that people should be able to retain all their income, and should not remit tariffs to the government.I totally disagree with this notion and this essay will explain why.* * To begin, Payment of taxes generates revenues for the government.¹ The government ought to be responsible to her citizens in many ways and most of the roles that the government plays require money and if the people do not pay tax, then the government will be bankrupt and unable to carry out her responsibilities.³ For example, countries like United Kingdom has been noted to fund 80% her annual budget from taxation of citizens whose needs the state strives to meet.³ Payment of levies is therefore paramount⁴*. * In addition, these payment to the state makes the people more responsible¹. Tax payers have a sense of responsibilities unconsciously inculcated into them and usually view state's amenities and interest as theirs and often thrive to protect same. ² For instance, a study carried out in Spain revealed that people who paid taxes were more keen at protecting state owned amenities than those who did not.³ The need to keep contributing part of one's earning to the state cannot be overemphasized.⁴* * Nevertheless, the government or handlers of these funds might embezzle or misappropriate them. However with regular demand from responsible citizens for accountability and strong institutions to punish offenders, this can be reduced to the barest minimum.* *In conclusion, despite the possibility of misappropriation of tax payers' money, I see. to strongly oppose the idea that the people should keep all the money that they earn and not to pay taxes because these levies generates income and revenue to the government and makes tax payers to be responsible citizens.*