Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on Society as a whole?

Regardless of living in a modern world, several societies are still struggling with illiteracy. There seems to be two main causes and some effects on this issue which will be discussed in the essay. Possibly, the main cause would be poverty, especially in undeveloped countries. This matter is mostly due to the economic turbulences, unemployment, and ever-rising number of lowering income people. Therefore, the deprived people are not able to pay the high rate of the educational affairs. The second reason appears to be the lack of appropriate educational system in some less-affluent countries, mainly in some countries which the governments allocate the main part of their budgets in the civil war. it seems that the administration cannot build schools proportion to their population. Furthermore, they are probably not able to afford the educational expenses like; books, educational aids and more importantly the skilled teachers. As a result, a lot of children are deprived from having education and remain illiterate. The effect of this problem on society can be quite irreversible. Firstly, the poverty impacts on all aspects of the people’s life especially on educational system. Since deprived people are struggling with their primary needs for life, they cannot meet the expense of their children’s training. So the children remain illiterate or less- literate. The illiteracy issue will be continued in the next generation likewise, less-literate or illiterate parents are not qualified to find an appropriate job. A further widely observed effect is on lack of sufficient educational structure in the civil war involvement countries, which has long-term and fundamental impact on the nation’s ability to improve. overall, poverty and long-term civil war seem to be the main causes of illiteracy in societies, and they affect considerably on nation’s fundamental education and improvement in all aspects.