A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans ,while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs ,including uses for food and research.

* Animals ' right has become a topical issue in recent time. An Increasing number of persons are of the opinion that animals should be treated with dignity, as they have same fundamental rights as the people, while others believe that they are to be used by humans for nourishment and for scientific purposes. There are valid points on both side of the debate and this essay will be discussing them and give a concluding opinion.* *On the one hand, those who argue that animals should not be exploited by people, do so because of the belief that these creatures experience pain as a human does. They believe that when we kill or carry out experiments on animals, they feel severe pain and suffering that equates that of humans. For example, a study carried out in the US, showed that for each animal killed in the wild, about 3 of its first degree relatives die within weeks. To the proponents of this idea, the evidence is convincing.* * On the other hand, those who believe that animals should be used by human as they please, cite the fact these creatures helps in life saving researches which cannot be carried out on humans. Since it is ethically wrong to test new medicines directly on humans, most novel drugs and vaccines are first tested on some animals in other to ascertain their viability. For instance, the cholera vaccine was first tested on rats in other to know if it is safe for human consumption. Also for a country to progress, she needs healthy citizens and consuming animals as part of a nourishment guarantees that. Animal exploitation is thus a positive event.* *In conclusion, despite the fact that animals may poses some humanlike feelings, their roles in drug research and nutrition would make me support the fact they must be employed to meet various human needs.*